Daphane’s out on research…again!

Ahoy there readers!

This is just a quick post to let you know that I will be out on a personal adventure this weekend and will be returning on Monday 25th. So if you send messages/emails/comments to me during this period – you may not receive a response. It’s not because I don’t love you or anything, it’s just a reception thing!

Last week I was down on French Island to assist with the trapping of Bandicoots as part of an ongoing conservation project (see my previous post).  And this weekend I’ll be camping out in Yarra State Forest to help out with an ecological monitoring program involving reptiles! Woo! Mind you I am taking PUBLIC TRANSPORT to Yarra Forest. Hello 2 hour commute!

I’ve got my fingers crossed that the weather is nice, and I’m a bit worried because it’s forecasted to pour tomorrow! The last thing I want, is to end up in a wet, leaky tent.

Hopefully I can snap some pictures of the lovely wildlife out there and share them with you when I get back!

I managed to get tomorrow’s morning off work as well which is amazing because I have 101 things to do before setting off tomorrow arvo. I’ve probably taken the maximum time off work to do all of these research outings, can’t believe I still have a job with the minimum hours I can work. I honestly don’t know what I’m going to do with work once semester starts and I have to hit the books.

Talking about work, I was working when the International Student Briefing was on and it was a killer! It was non-stop action, phone call after phone call, person after person. It was so busy that I forgot to take my break, and we had to stay back for another 15 minutes serving people. But it was great seeing the campus so lively again!

IMG_1731

Anyhoo! I sort of drifted off topic there.

And as per usual, I will be handwriting posts in my trusty notebook while I’m away. I’ve got lots of new ideas for the blog, it’s just a matter of finding time to get around making them happen! I have a loooooooong to-do list on my hands.

In other news, o-week is fast approaching! I’m super super excited. I will be floating around during o-week, armed with my camera! And perhaps getting my hands into the freebies… Get your picture-perfect faces on :)

And to those of you heading off to science o’camp tomorrow – HAVE FUN!

I really want to squeeze in one or two more posts before I leave tomorrow, but we’ll see how it goes.

Till Monday the 25th my friends!

Daph

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

