Lessons learned in Week 8

keys-to-happinessAs you know, I hit a rough patch the other day (read all about it here) but things have changed!

Lots of decisions have been made, big changes have been made, and here is what has happened since then.

I withdrew from one of my subjects

Screen Shot 2013-04-30 at 3.21.59 PM

I know, I know. It’s week 8, what the hell am I doing withdrawing from a subject this far into semester?

Yes, I have to pay for the subject and I understand that.

I had to think of the big picture. Realistically, I know this is going to be my worst subject and I know that I’m not going to do well. I would had to put in a lot of work to get a decent mark, and this means I need to take study time out of my other important subjects.

Why should I jeopardise my other subjects when I have a chance of doing well in them?

It’s really important for me to get into that quota/core subject next semester (there’s only a set number of places, and you need to do this subject to move on to 3rd year zoology subjects). So I need a good average to get into that subject or it will make things very difficult next year.

After speaking to many people including the advisor at the student centre, we all came to the one conclusion. It would be better for my to withdraw, than get a crappy mark and drag my average down.

Lesson 1: It’s better to have a withdraw on your transcript than a really really bad mark. (As a one off)

I’m reducing my study load and extending the length of my course

At first, I was really opposed to extending the length of my 3 year degree, to 3 and a half years. I wanted to graduate with my friends, and I didn’t want to feel left out. I could’ve taken the intensives, but I wanted (needed) a break between semesters.

It had to be done. So instead of graduating in december 2014, it will be august 2015. Extra semester for Daphane!

But you know what – this is for the best! Why should I cram 4 subjects in per semester and probably be ridiculously stressed and not perform as well, when I can spread my subjects out, stress less, perform better, and enjoy my time more at uni!

I don’t want to leave uni knowing that I haven’t made the most of it while stressing and cramming study in.

Lesson 2: It’s perfectly okay to extend the length of your course! It’s not the end of the world if you don’t graduate with your friends.

You’re never alone!

604114_10152747775970265_446938744_n

Just wanted to thank everyone for their support and lovely comments!

Uni can be a rather lonely place, even when you’re surrounded by so many people. Don’t ever forget that there’s people out there who are willing to help you!

The number of times I have been back and forth to the Science Student Centre this week to sort out of my study plan is TOO HIGH!

Lesson 3: It’s okay, to NOT be okay! If you’re feeling down about uni, there’s bound to be someone out there who feels the exact same!

And I think the biggest lesson of all…

34069500

For me, what all this has taught me is that: whenever things aren’t working out, do something about it!

Sitting around hoping that this phase will pass is not doing you any good. Identify the issue, and find a solution.

But of course I’m making it sound easier than it is, and this is where you need to seek for help.

Lesson 4: Ask for help and advice! Whether if it’s from your family, friends, uni staff members, lecturers, psychologists etc. JUST ASK FOR HELP.

Boy it’s been a big week. Hope you’re all doing okay!

Daphane

9 Responses to “Lessons learned in Week 8”

  1. Anon

    I underloaded last semester (in my second semester of first year) for similar reasons as you, in the hope of getting a better average than last semester. As it turned out, I didn’t do so well in Linear Algebra, and the extra free time I had as a result was basically spent on a lot of non-study related stuff anyway, so my average didn’t improve at all.

    From someone who has been there before, hang in there :)

    Reply
    • Daphane Ng

      Oh no! Using that extra time to do other un-related stuff was one of the things I had in the back of my mind when I was thinking of underloading. Hmm…I will need to work on that.

      Thank you kind stranger! You are lovely :)

      Reply
  2. Monique

    Haha I went through this last year! :P I even wrote about it in a blog too! Haha, this post was awesome :D Really enjoy reading your work!

    Reply
    • Daphane Ng

      Hey Monique! Ooh you blog too? Link me up! I’d love to have a read :)

      And thank you! I’m glad that you’re enjoy my blog!

      Reply
  3. Julie

    Hey, I didn’t reduce my semester or anything but I’m suppose to be a 2nd year student right now. But since I transferred from RMIT and didn’t get to transfer all of my credits for the past year, so i pretty much became a mid-sem student. I’ll be graduating in the Wilson Hall at the same time as you^^ so you won’t be graduating alone from our year level :) (class of 2011, yeah? Lol)

    Reply
    • Daphane Ng

      Woo!! That’s awesome! I mean, awesome that I’ve got someone who will be graduating with me! That’s annoying that all your credit didn’t get transferred over :(

      Hopefully I can catch you around campus one day Julie!
      Daph

      Reply

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

