PRACS: What I do (pt 2)

LOLcat - Do Science

Continuing on the pracs trilogy…here is a snapshot of what I’ve been up to in my labs!

Examining skulls and relating it to their function

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.21.05 am

This was my very first prac, and I was SO excited when we each had our very own set of skulls to play with. I have never been able to handle real skulls, and I’ve always been conditioned not to touch anything in my high school science class…so I was pretty stoked!

Looking at the different insects and their body parts

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.24.20 am

Part of our prac class involved us collecting a jar full of insects. And strangely, I quite enjoyed it.

After collecting them, we checked them out under our microscopes, and it was really interesting to see them up close!

Dissections of molluscs and crustaceans

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.25.25 am

I don’t think I mentioned this, but did you know that we had to buy our own dissecting kit? Pretty cool to own my own kit.

Here we had to dissect squid and the yabby, and label all the parts.

Worms, and more worms

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.25.54 am

We had a mini aquarium in our class for this prac, which was pretty awesome!

We checked out a range of different worms under the microscopes and had to label their structures and related that to their function etc.

Tiegs Museum

Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.26.13 am

I love the Tiegs museum so much! It’s like a hidden treasure on campus.

***

So that’s a snapshot of what I get up to in my zoology pracs!¬†Pretty fortunate to get an opportunity to do these kind of things in pracs.

Daph

For part 1: First Year vs Second Year Pracs

For part 3: What I’ve learned/tips

8 Responses to “PRACS: What I do (pt 2)”

  1. Anonymous

    Such an interesting post… An insight into the zoology majors!! But safe to say, I am happy with commerce – just looking at the pictures of those insects is giving me itches !!!
    Fay

    Reply
  2. Oakley

    These photos are making me really excited for the second year Animal Structure and Function pracs :D
    The first year ones are stepped through almost too well, but they’re really boring and there’s no Tieg Museum next to the prac venues.
    Can’t wait :D
    (Also, to follow on from the worm thing, never Google parasites out of curiosity. It’s a slippery slope that leads to knowing far too much about horrific organisms and makes you never want to leave the house again :'( ).

    Reply
    • Daphane Ng

      Hi! The pracs are great and you learn so much from them! And thanks for the heads up, parasites will never be googled then!

      Thanks for reading my blog :)
      Daph

      Reply
  3. hannah

    hi, just wondering, is the Tiegs open to non-science students? im in commerce, but find this stuff so interesting!

    Reply
    • Daphane Ng

      Hi Hannah!

      Ooh I know, it’s super interesting in there!

      It says on the website (http://www.zoology.unimelb.edu.au/tiegs/contacts/) that ‘access to the museum is by appointment only’. But the door to the museum is always open, so I’m not sure :S

      Maybe send an email to Vivian (her email is in that link) and check.

      Or you can always head down to the Zoology building and check it out. It’s next to room 105, it will say Tiegs Museum at the top!

      Daph

      Reply

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

