The LMS had a makeover!

h42FF2972

Greetings from Singapore ladies and gents! Yes I am on my holiday, but I’ve decided to squeeze in one blog post before I head out. (I’m a bit of a workaholic, I know)

Anyways, there was a big update to the LMS the other week, and I quite like the new look. It’s a bit more functional, and it looks “pretty” – so yes, it has my tick of approval :)

Here is what has changed!

The homepage

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 11.43.53 AM

It seems like they’ve change the LMS to match the new portal’s look as well. But hey, you can also personalise your LMS page (which isn’t new), but if you click the “personalise page” button on the top right, you can choose from 16 other themes!

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 11.50.44 AM

Although, when I selected on the “forest” theme, it looked nothing like the preview. Yes – I felt somewhat cheated.

Logout button

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 11.58.24 AM

Meh, I never log out anyways.

Shortcuts

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 12.06.54 PM

Who doesn’t love shortcuts! If you click on the little arrow next to your name, this shortcut bar would drop down.

Honestly, I didn’t quite understand what some of the icons mean. Like, what is that number 2 and 4 icon?

Anyhoos, if you hover your mouse over them, they tell you what they are:

1 – Blackboard Home

2 – Posts

3 – Updates

4 – My grades

5 – Calendar

Easily skip to your other subjects

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 12.16.54 PM

When you are viewing your subject’s LMS page, you can easily skip to your other subject’s page by clicking on the little arrow on your top left hand corner.

Maybe it’s just me, or is that font colour for the subject title is ridiculously hard to read?

Calendar

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 12.21.58 PM

This is just a preview I got from http://lms.unimelb.edu.au/upgrade/student/

Okay now, this one…I LOVE! I think this is probably the best thing about the LMS update! When the lecturer puts a due date on the LMS, these dates will automatically pop up on this calendar! So now, all of your due dates are on the one page! Too easy :)

View contents in the LMS subject tabs

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 12.28.00 PM

I reckon this is a time saver! I hate having to open up every single tab to see what’s in there. So to be able to expand the folder and see what’s in there is pretty cool.

What you’ll need to do, is to click on that folder button and then expand.

Discussion board

Screen Shot 2013-07-16 at 12.34.17 PM

They’ve put in a new text editor where you can do just about a thousand and one things to your post! If you click on the little arrow to your far top right corner, it will drop down a whole of other text things.

Confession: I don’t know what 3/4 of those buttons mean…

But then again, I rarely use the discussion board anyways because sometimes there isn’t even a discussion board to begin with!

Anyhoos, if you need more info, this is place to visit:

http://lms.unimelb.edu.au/upgrade/student/

Happy holidaying!

Daph

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

