Back in Melbourne!

DSC03651

After taking a break and escaping to Singapore for a week or so, it’s nice to be back home!

I enjoyed my time away and I do miss the hot, humid weather Singapore had to offer. It was good to get away from everything and get some perspective back into my life after a crazy semester 1.

It was really strange going back to my birth country after so many years. The story with me and Singapore is that around 12 years ago, me and my family moved to Australia and I haven’t been back since! So it was really weird to go back. While I was there, I visited my grandparents and relatives, and rediscovered what their culture and lifestyle is like.

Some things I loved about Singapore is…

(1) The food! Singapore’s food is soooo amazingly cheap and delicious! And I found that the dodgier the shop looks, the better the food!

(2) The weather! Hot and humid is what I like – although the mosquitos loved me a bit too much.

(3) The public transport system! So fast, efficient, and reliable. Our myki system can learn a thing or two from Singapore.

But at the end of the day, I still prefer Australia’s lifestyle, culture and people!

Here’s a couple of places I visited while I was away.

Jurong Bird Park

Possibly one of the best animal attractions in Singapore!

Singapore zoo/River Safari

The Singapore zoo is absolutely massive! And it seems like all zoos in Singapore have little trams that take you around the place – pretty handy. I also got the opportunity to hold a cute little hedgehog until a kid stole it off my hands. Let’s say that I was quite devastated!

Haw Par Villa

Haw Par Villa is a big garden that is based on traditional historical figures, stories, mythology etc.

Singapore Science Centre

Because my inner science geek doesn’t simply go on holiday! It’s quite an amazing place, but a bit run down.

Pulau Ubin

Pulau Ubin is a little island off the coast of Singapore, and it’s the last remnant of old-school traditional Singapore.

Gardens by the Bay

This place is absolutely a-mazing! If you’re ever in Singapore, you have to go there!

Sentosa

I didn’t go to any of the rollercoasters or water rides (didn’t get time), but I went to the butterfly park and the aquarium which was pretty good!

And as soon as I touched down in Melbourne, it was straight into helping out at academic advice day & hosting for the mid year orientation. It was a very different atmosphere hosting this time round (Bring back T&O!!).

Anyhoos, I’m glad to be back home! Weird how uni is starting up again on Monday, but I can’t wait to see everyone again!

Daph

x

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

