What's happening in Semester 2?

image

Bring on semester 2 I say! There’s SO MUCH going on in semester 2, it is crazy. This is the semester for all the society balls, major uni events, more parties etc.

The balls are great fun, and they tend to be held in the same location. Last year, most of the balls were held at Etihad stadium, but it looks like we’ve moved to The Peninsula@Docklands. There’s still a ton of awesome events coming up (SSS ball etc.), but they haven’t released any info yet- so keep an eye out on facey! And I’ll also update my blog as more events pop up.

Here are some things that are happening in Semester 2:

Engineering Cruise

8561_10152938050380083_892684299_n

YES! I always love a themed-cruise

When: Wednesday August 14, 7pm onwards

Where: Leaving Federation Wharf

How much: $49 per person

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/events/427786463995721

Commerce Ball

998738_516771475043092_1660847453_n

No doubt, probably one the classiest balls offered by a club at uni! It’s pricey, but from the photos I’ve seen – it’s looks spectacular!

When: Thursday August 22, 7pm onwards

Where: The Peninsula@Docklands

How much: $125 per person

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/events/654267407935078/

Biomedicine Ball

62291_10200220854271985_842177772_n

Oh BSS, I am so happy that you are donating your proceeds to Peter Mac this year! If only SSS can do something like that. Good on you guys! Hats off to you :)

When: Wednesday September 25, 7pm

Where: The Peninsula@Docklands

How much: $100 BSS Members, $110 Non Members

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/events/350633955066721/

Prosh Week

Only THE craziest week at uni! I will be putting together a blog post to tell you all what prosh week is. But the picture above to the right, is what happened in my lecture in first year! So it’s a good week to attend your lectures, you’ll never know what will happen.

p.s. Registrations open on 29th July

When: Week 9, September 23-27

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ProshWeek

Aus Uni Games (AUG)

2013-04-AUG-event-banner x 618

I was planning to go this year! But decided to give it a miss because I just don’t have the money to pay for it all :(

Uni Games is where the universities around australia compete in a range of sports, and from what I’ve heard from friends – it’s a pretty amazing experience! This year it will be held in Gold Coast, and it’s during our little ‘non-teaching period’, aka our one week holiday during semester, Sept 30 September – 6 October. So you won’t be missing out on any uni work.

If you want to get involved, keep an eye for notices on the portal where lots of clubs are holding try outs. Or, contact the clubs directly!

When: Sept 29 – Oct 4

Where: Gold Coast

More info: http://www.sport.unimelb.edu.au/UniGames/

Student Elections

e830267c7e27da82c96fd21348b659cb

Okay, this event is not so ‘exciting’ like the others- but I’ve red marked this week in my diary as a reminder to avoid walking around campus unless absolutely necessary as you WILL BE HARASSED AND STALKED AROUND CAMPUS!

I had one of the reps walk with me from the swanston st tram stop, ALL THE WAY to arts west, telling me about all the things he’s going to do if he gets elected! First off, 9am daphane was not happy that she was already running late to a lecture and did not get a caffeine fix that morning. And second, even after telling this guy politely that I’ve already voted (which I actually did!), he still would not leave me alone!

I should’ve unleashed my ninja skills on him!

But imagine this, happening all week, all day. It’s ridiculous how far some reps go to get you to vote for them, and I think that some of them should not be tolerated. It’s so suffocating to have all these people harass the living daylights out of you.

In saying all this – I do agree that it IS important to vote and have a say in who represents us (especially after what happened this year with the whole Margaret Thatcher business…).

When: 2-6 September

More info: http://union.unimelb.edu.au/elections/notice-of-election

Festival of Ideas

mfoi-logo-day00-whiteMelbourne Uni is hosting this event and although the program hasn’t been released yet, this event sounds very interesting! During the one-week event, there will be debates, performances, tours and competitions running and it’s all about challenging our way of thinking.

When: 1-6 October

More info: http://ideas.unimelb.edu.au

Melbourne Uni Open Day

Screen Shot 2013-07-27 at 11.30.48 PM

I’m really excited for Open Day! Why? Because this is when the university opens up their doors, and you get to check out places around uni that isn’t normally open to the public. Like, checking out Tiegs Muesum, or the crazy anatomy & pathology muesum that I’ve heard so much about!

So it’s an awesome time to discover the uni! Plus, staff from most departments will be there on the day to answer questions – so it’s a good opportunity to have a chat to them! And think of all the free stuff!!!

When: Sunday August 18, 10am-4pm

Facebook event page: https://www.facebook.com/events/545811062148418/

There’s still a ton of other events that are happening during semester – but I think I’ll leave it for now! And I will keep adding new events to the ‘upcoming events’ section on my blog when they arise.

Daph :)

4 Responses to “What's happening in Semester 2?”

    • Daphane Ng

      Hi Veronica!

      I actually come across these events mainly through facebook. Most of the time when you ‘like’ a club or societies facebook page, they will send invitations to you for events such as the balls and bbqs etc. Or events will somehow pop up on my newsfeed because my other friends are attending. Other times, I find out about events through the ‘news and notices’ section on the portal, by signing up to various newsletters at uni (e.g. UMSU), or just by word of mouth!

      There’s also a melb uni events website that has listings of public talks, and other more ‘serious’ events. Here’s the link if you’re interested: http://events.unimelb.edu.au :)

      Daphane

      Reply
  1. dem0sthenes

    Hey! The Arts Ball sign ups are coming up next week, do you have an idea of the best time to line up? I know people arrived around 5 for the Commerce ball…would you suggest the same? I do know that the signups for Arts Ball begin at 12, but I’m not sure if the Commerce ball signups were at 12 as well.

    Reply
    • Daphane Ng

      Hey there! Did people really start queuing up from 5! I think CSS ball ticket sales started at 3pm…goodness people are super keen! I’m also planning to go the the arts ball :D I think me and my friends will be hovering around 2-3 hours beforehand to snap up some tickets. Or, if you happen to have connections to anyone on the committee, I know usually they have their special tickets for committee people.

      Fingers crossed we both manage to score tickets!

      Reply

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

