10 ways to avoid UMSU campaigners

Oh-Boy-here-we-go-again

As you can tell from all the facebook spamming and chalking around uni, yes – it’s UMSU student election week *groans*. If this is your first year at Melbourne Uni, you’re in for a treat! This week will be the ultimate test of your patience and your sanity. 

To set the record straight – although I’m not a fan of election week and all the relentless harassment on campus, I still think that it’s important to read up on what each party is offering and VOTE because whoever is elected will have the power to spend our SSAF money.  (See what UMSU has been spending on with our SSAF here.)

Plus, remember what happened with the whole Margaret Thatcher thing? Well..that’s another reason why you should vote!

SO – This week you will be nagged at, you will be chased by campaigners, and they may even stalk you to your lecture! In my first year, I had no clue how to handle campaigners! So here are some phrases and tips I’ve learnt from first year to help you deal with campaigners:

1. “Sorry I’ve already voted”

suspiciously-evil-sloth-meme-generator-just-kidding-i-m-not-sorry-5feaac.jpg

Classic response.

2. “Sorry I’m not from Melbourne Uni”

Dont-go-away-mad-Just-go-away_o_60932Or…”I’m visiting a friend”

3. “I’m a staff member, I can’t vote”

leavemealone

4. “Me no speak english”

3pxwrx

I highly doubt this will work though!

5. “Someone from your party has already spoken to me” or “You have already spoken to me”

3qldkp6. Avoid eye contact, just keep walking

3q6q3g

7. “Sorry I’m not interested”

Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 10.55.27 PM

If you don’t get the reference, check out the vid here: http://ow.ly/ormVi

But this one may backfire because they may attempt to get you interest in the whole election and start talking even more

8. “Sorry I don’t have time, I’m running late to a lecture”

yes-of-course-i-have-a-minute-for-you

Yes, late to an imaginary lecture!

9. Avoid Union house

fdyhfr-meme-generator-hide-yo-kids-hide-yo-wife-5dc51d

10. “Yes, I’ve just voted for your party”

Screen Shot 2013-08-31 at 11.38.54 PM

This one always leaves the campaigners happy!

Good luck with election week!

Daphane

4 Responses to “10 ways to avoid UMSU campaigners”

  1. matthras

    Geez, Daph, at least give people a recommendation of where they can buy a good can of Mace/pepper spray :p

    Reply
    • Daphane Ng

      Haha no I’m not that mean! A couple of my friends are also campaigning so I would prefer to have them back in one piece at the end of the election :P

      Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Just a heads up, you have no number 4 and two number 8 :) great post! I usually just walk around with my headphones on so I can’t hear them.

    Reply

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

