Get back in the game

hBF08872E

If you’ve read my last blog post, you’d know that things with me and uni haven’t been the greatest. It was initially suppose to be a 3 part blog post, but I’ve decided to scrap the second post. The second post was basically me having a massive rant about how frustrated I am with the whole academic side of things. But no. Not going to publish that. Maybe later when I’m more rational?

Anyways! This is a happy post.

It’s time to get back on track and turn things around!

Here are some of my tips:

Sleep – you need it

h0C3DE416

Sleep? What is sleep?

I don’t know about you, but I’m just EXHAUSTED. I’ve been neglecting sleep, doing big 14 hour days running on empty, staying up at ridiculous hours trying to get as much done as I can.  And…it’s time to fix sleeping patterns!

It’s time to stop pulling all nighters. You are doing more harm than good to yourself. From what I remember from studying psychology, sleep is where your body repairs itself from all the wear and tear, and it is also where your brain consolidates information. So you’re better off getting some quality sleep!

Exercise

o-EXERCISING-WITH-CATS-facebookAlways good to get work that stress away! Even if it’s just a walk around the block!

And if you have a cat, why not exercise with your cat? Watch the vid here.

Step away from the coffee

imageI got to a point where I was heavily reliant on caffeine to get me through big days, and somewhat addicted to it. (Bringing in good business to all the coffee shops on campus too).

Try cutting down on the number of coffees you get, and drink up on WATER.

Water is your friend.

Eat proper meals

large

Food is important! Make sure that you’re eating up the good kind of food, but don’t forget to reward yourself and indulge from time to time.

Avoid skipping out on meals because of study etc. And don’t forget breakfast!

Stop procrastinating

yoda-procrastinate-memeEasier said than done, I KNOW.

I spend so much of my day on social media, watching cat videos, browsing the net etc. No, no more!

This semester has by far, been my most un-academic semester (if that even make sense?). I haven’t been doing very well this semester so I need to make up for all this in my exams!

Goodbye procrastination! See you after exams.

Learning is about taking baby steps

Adventure_time_meme_by_chaosthorn78-d5iihcbDon’t be discourage if you’re not doing well, learning isn’t an overnight thing! You will get there in time, just keep at it!

Don’t forget that Academic Skills can help you if you need a hand.

And I just want to say – you are NOT stupid because you don’t get good marks. Marks are no way a good measure of “success” and “intellect”. Our educations system places a heavy emphasis on marks and grade, and I don’t like it one bit. It just doesn’t make sense to me. I feel like all these assignments and exams don’t measure what they’re suppose to measure (if that makes sense?). In my opinion, exams are merely a way to measure how good you are at memorising things and regurgitating textbooks.

So don’t put yourself down over exams and such. There are bigger and more important things in life to worry about.

You have to take care of yourself first, before helping others

h111f1ff6

I learnt this the hard way. But it makes so much sense – if you’re not looking after yourself, how can you help other people? It’s like the scenario in airplanes where you put the oxygen mask on yourself first, then the people around you.

You can’t keep on giving, sometimes you need to be selfish and put yourself first. Having time for yourself is uber important.

Learn to say no

how-bout-no

Saying no is possibly one of my biggest weaknesses! It’s time to start prioritising and get some focus back into life.

I’ve got to stop overloading myself with so many things, and be cut down on not-so-important things (as much as I don’t want to).

Stop being so harsh on yourself

rain copy

Be nice to yourself! So you didn’t do well in that last assignment, so you have been neglecting study…it’s time to let it go! There’s no point worry about that now, that’s in the past. So forget about it and move on. You’re better off investing your energy to working on what’s in the present and what’s ahead for you :)

Don’t let anything or anyone stop you!

hope

You CAN do it. Who cares what other people think, just ignore them. If you need help, just ask :)

Negativity is contagious. People who keep yapping on about “oh we are going to fail…oh we’re so screwed”…isn’t exactly helpful. What I mean is…be supportive of one another, but don’t let that negative talk get to you okay?

De-stress

h27E14B46If you’re feeling overwhelmed with uni, take a break! No really – take the night/weekend off, do something different and re-charge your batteries.

And don’t feel guilty about it! You deserve a little break after this crazy semester before exams.

Hang in there! It will be over soon

surprise-hug

SMILE! Although things may seem a bit crappy at the moment, things WILL work out. Yes, these exams and such are important – but it’s not life or death. Before you know it, uni will be done and dusted.

You may find these two old blog posts of interest:

There is so much more to life than just uni! We will get there, just hang tight! :)

Daphane

2 Responses to “Get back in the game”

  1. Anonymous

    If you have time, can you do a post about strategies for combating procrastination (a constant problem for me) and how to get into a good study routine (especially seeing exams are coming up)? :)

    Reply

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

