An overview of college life + tips (Kimi)

Have you ever wondered what college life is like? I invited Kimi Pellosis to write a guest post, outlining the jist of what it is like to be a college kid. 

Take it away Kimi!

***

Hey guys! My name is Kimi and I’m currently in my third year tackling the Bachelor of Science. I was at Trinity College a couple of years ago as a fresher, and it was definitely the best year of my life.

What is college like?

For those who don’t know what colleges are – they are basically dorms. You have your own room with shared amenities such as toilets, common rooms, study spaces and a dining hall with meals provided. 

Rest assured, everyday is a bit of an adventure at college. Alongside 140 or so students, there are lots of extracurricular activities you can be a part of. You can join many clubs, there are volunteering opportunities, and you can also get involved with sports, the choir, band, theatre. Plus there are also recreational trips at college.

Each of the 12 colleges has its own distinct culture. Some colleges have friendly rivalries due to their colourful longstanding history. But fundamentally – each college offers the same experience. If you’re thinking of living in college, I highly recommend researching the colleges thoroughly. But at the end of the day, which ever college you end up calling your home, I promise you that you will love it!

Choosing to stay at college

Staying at college is one of the more expensive options out there if you are planning to move out of home. However in saying that, colleges do offer scholarships and bursaries if you need the extra financial help. Being a scholarship recipient in first year, I know Trinity in particular has an extensive scholarships scheme in place for commencing and returning students (subliminal marketing stint achieved tiger woo!)

Another thing to consider when choosing to stay in college is how separate you want your college life and university life to be.

You will commonly find international, exchange, interstate and rural students in colleges. However, you still have a decent proportion of students who go to college for the experience *guilty*, or as part of a family tradition.

Applying for college

Some colleges receive more applications from prospective students than others. So the selection process may or may not be competitive. Your ATAR will be taken into consideration, also whether or not you’re a unimelb student, and your skills and attributes in terms of what you’d be offering to the college community (if you’re a bit of a muso or a jock, or if you love volunteering – definitely mention it in your application and during your interview!)

If you’re still reading up to this point – yay! And assuming you’ve been accepted to the college of your choice (or any college for that matter) – double yay!

My college tips

PACKING

Do not make the same mistake as I did and pack almost every single piece of clothing you’ve got. You end up bringing things that you really don’t need. Plus the fresher rooms aren’t that big – so the fewer things you bring, the better! If you’re keen to personalise your room, take advantage of poster sales and channel your inner Picasso by utilizing the walls – blutack is your BFFL for this one.

One of the things that I brought to college that turned out to be useless was my jumpsuit (which I haven’t worn since Happy Feet was out in cinemas). I thought – surely, there will be a time in college where said jumpsuit would fit the occasion perfectly. And well…there wasn’t an occasion to wear it.

EVENTS

O’week will be awesome! There is also the college balls and college day which are heaps of fun. I won’t elaborate on the events because I will spoil the fun.

STUDY

Heads up – it is way too easy to get caught up with everything at college and at uni. It may be hard to believe, but there is always something on every night.

Don’t forget why you are at college to begin with (oh right, my degree). Learn to say no and be diligent with your studies. Take advantage that you are living with students that are taking the same subjects as you, and that there are tutors there to help you out.

Being in a college straight after high school, there was suddenly so much independence at uni. Going to your lectures and tutorials (occasionally still in pyjamas) is usually up to you. Don’t rely on ‘winging it’ for your assessments and cramming everything during SWOTVAC.

Keeping yourself awake with copious amounts of V/mother/insert caffeinated substance here, won’t fly either. Unless you’re willing to crash and burn…

Say that there is a mid semester test the next day, but it’s college bar night and you’re SO behind the new season of The Walking Dead…say no!

FRIENDS

Your closest college friends are for life…legit. You survive your fresher year living together, stumbling through the wild and harsh jungles of university…you all come out of it as one tight knit and happy family – in like, a loyal ‘I would take a bullet for you’ kind of way, not that fake frenemy kind of way (not even kidding).

Side note Melbourne kids: now that you’ll be living closer to the city, you may or may not be taken advantage of by your friends who will want a place to crash. Be wary!

I think those are the main tips I have up my sleeve, that, and The Walking Dead’s a callin’!

All the best y’all! Over and out.

Kimi

5 Responses to “An overview of college life + tips (Kimi)”

  1. Julian

    Hello,
    I’m planning to start studying at UniMelb next July (mid-year entry). I’m seriously considering the college option, as a I think it may allow me a smoother transition towards university… I would like to compare the colleges in order to decide which one fits me best (culture, fees), but unfortunately, I’m currently at the other side of the world… What college would you recommend me, knowing that I will be applying for the Bachelor of Environments and that I’m an australian citizen. And do you know if I can apply for colleges once I have arrived in Melbourne or shall I apply beforehand ?
    Thanks for your help,
    Julian

    Reply
    • Daphane Ng

      Hi Julian! I assume that you’ve checked out the colleges on the website? You can also follow their social media pages (facebook, twitter etc.) to get a better sense of what the atmosphere of the colleges. I don’t think I will be a big help with recommending a college (sorry!). I’ve briefly stayed at St Hilda’s and Queens College before and can say that Queens is nicer but is rather expensive. Queens is much larger than St Hilda’s, and I like the rooms better at Queens. I’m not sure about the college application process – you may have to email the colleges directly to find out.

      Sorry I can’t be more helpful :(
      Daphane

      Reply
      • Julian

        Don’t worry! You’ve been very helpful to me!
        Thanks and keep updating your blog, I love it, it gives me a peek of what is awaiting me next year (if ever I get an offer ;) ) !

  2. Alexander

    Hello,
    I’m applying the Ormond College,and next stage is the interview.Because I’m a international student,I never took this kind of interview before,then what should I do?Which kinds of questions do they prefer to ask?
    Thank you for your reply

    Reply

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

