Week 4 studying abroad: Saying goodbye

So, this blog post is about 2 weeks overdue because I didn’t get around to finishing this post at the time. Better late than never!

My time studying abroad has come to an end, and I arrived back in Melbourne yesterday morning.

As excited as I am to be back home, I’m missing Peru!

Week 4 marked the final week of my study abroad shindig in Peru, and boy – it was a busy week full of studying. We were up to our necks in assignments!

IMG_6170

Our classroom in Peru

What were the assessments like, you ask?

For starters – all the assessments were group-based. Our class was divided into groups of 2-3 people, and all of the papers, presentations and debates we do were in those groups.

Group assignments usually give me a huge headache, but I was lucky to have been paired up with someone great!

There were assigned readings for every class, and each group has to lead the discussion and makes a presentation for 2-3 readings. Some groups had to do 3 readings in a row – so that was unlucky for them.

We had a big class debate during that week – so we were busy doing our research and preparing our arguments.

On top of that, we had to write our final paper and prepare our big class presentation…and study for the final exam.

Yep – it was an intense week!

The brief for the final paper and presentation was extremely vague and ambiguous, with the only clear guideline being that it had to do something with Peru.

My group partner and I decided to base our paper and presentation on the difference between the South American Camelids (think alpacas, llamas, vicunas, and guanacos.). And we also decided to have a bit of fun with our presentation.

We ran a ‘live demonstration’ in our presentation and brought not one, but two alpacas to uni!

Who said class presentations had to be boring :P

Here’s proof:

IMG_6420

IMG_6459

IMG_6467

Saying goodbye to everyone and Peru was harder than I thought it’d be.

There were many times during the program when I was so homesick and raring to head home. But when the time actually came to bid farewell to Peru, I didn’t want it to end.

I’ve come out of my study abroad with new perspectives and a new found appreciation for many things. I’ve learned so much from my times abroad – and I shall elaborate more on this in a later blog post.

Returning to Melbourne was a bittersweet journey – but it’s nice to be back!

Since my return, I’ve been busy working on the blog with lots of new posts in mind. Soon I will be recruiting new bloggers – I just need to figure out the best way to do this.

I’ve also finally switched over to a new and cleaner look for the the blog. Hope you enjoy the new theme! I’m also in the process of shuffling blog categories to make posts easier to locate – so, apologies if things keep moving on the blog. Thanks for your patience!

– Daphane

 

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

