The road to graduation

Tomorrow’s the big day! Come 4pm, I’ll be sitting nervously in Wilson Hall, waiting to walk up the stage to collect my degree. But knowing me, I’ll most likely trip walking up the stage. Even though I’ve been anticipating my graduation day for some time now, it still doesn’t feel real. I can’t believe this is all happening!

It’s a strange feeling not being back at uni with everyone this week. I feel like I should be flipping through textbooks, downing sausages on South Lawn, and running around the library trying to find a powerpoint to charge my laptop.

Is it sad that I already miss uni?

I mean – I definitely don’t miss the assignments and the constant stress of feeling behind. So far, I’m missing the routine and the social aspect of uni (I miss you, friends!).

I think an aspect of me missing uni life is that, as a student – I have a good understanding of what I need to do. I’ve got x, y, z to do, I’ve got goals in place and I’m working to meet deadlines over the semester. Whereas now in this transitionary period, this routine and ‘knowing what to do’ feeling is thrown out the window. So, I guess you can say I’ve been feeling a bit lost.

A lot has been happening in my world.

I’ve been busy handing over the blog to our new editors – Reanna and Travis. They now have the reins and calling the shots while I’ve been distancing myself away from the blog. It’s taken every bit of me to hold back from working on the blog, and it’s been hard to step back from something that’s essentially been my life for the past few years.

Since my last exam, I’ve been back on the job-hunt and I finally caught a break. I’m super excited to share that I’ve been offered my first full-time stint at Deakin.

Yes, you read correctly.

DEAKIN!! :D

Please don’t hate me for ditching unimelb. Believe me – I really wanted to stay and find a job here. It’s time to step outside my comfort zone and jump into something completely new!

I’m beyond ecstatic to be joining Deakin as their International Content Officer, starting next week. I know – a job straight out of undergrad, what. I am as shocked as you are and I’m counting my lucky stars on how fortunate I am.

I’m feeling excited about this new chapter of my life; I’m also really nervous! I’m not sure what to except at my new home and I’m dreading being that awkward newbie who’s fumbling around trying to find her feet.

I feel like a jaffy again…but a grown up jaffy…that’s getting paid to go to uni.

I paid Deakin a visit last week and it really is a lovely campus. I absolutely love their library – it’s like powerpoint central.

Bliss.

I’ve also just bought my first car to get to Deakin (because taking public transport to Deakin from Chelsea is insane). The process of finding a car and getting my finance in order has been stressful, but rewarding now that everything’s sorted and the car is all mine.

So, everything’s happening right now, and happening rather quickly too. Ah!

Getting ready to graduate

The excitement is really kicking in now. I haven’t figured out what I’m wearing yet (I should probably get onto that soon), and I’m really looking forward to show my family around campus because some of them haven’t been here before. I will be instagramming my graduation day through our blog’s Instagram account (@unimelbadventures) and there will be snippets of it on my personal account too (@daphaneng).

What’s really exciting about graduations this time round is that they will be live-streamed. There isn’t enough seats for everyone to bring their entire families along, so this is a great way for those who missed out on tickets to stay in the loop. If you want to catch the action, head here and see the ‘announcements’ section.

I’m hoping that my graduation day will run smoothly and that the weather is kind to us. I’ve been re-reading a blog post a friend wrote about her graduation experience, and that has been helpful to settle my nerves. She’s also 100% right about how expensive graduations can be.

I’m so glad to be graduating mid year (Wilson Hall, hell yeah!), and I’ve got zero regrets extending my degree. But I can’t help to feel sad that I won’t know many people in this ceremony because majority of the people in my cohort graduated last year.

You can’t have it all.

Well, I hope you’ve all had a good start to semester so far. Semester 2 has always been my favourite time of the year – there’s all the big events like Open Day, uni balls (10/10 recommend you go to one), uni games, Prosh etc. Disappointed I’ll be missing out, so please have fun for me!

FYI – my next blog post will be my last. It will be a post full of feels and I hope you stick around for it.

See you on the other side of my graduation!

– Daph

Leave a reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

